Day 351 Risk: Try A New Song At Karaoke

I know a lot of people who would consider singing karaoke a risk. But for me, it’s just a good time. I have no reservations about getting up in front of a bar of strangers and singing along to Salt-N-Pepper or Tiffany, following the words being lit up on the decades old television screen in the corner of a dive bar.

A few of my standards include Sin Wagon by The Dixie Chicks and Tyrone by Erykah Badu. I tend to fall back on these when I’m feeling unadventurous. I’m all about singing a new song, but I get a little nervous if I can’t remember all the lyrics. My good friend wanted to sing a song together, and she chose Big Spender from the musical Sweet Charity.

We couldn’t remember any of the lyrics past the first verse though. We were sitting in the back of the bar, eyes blindly scanning our surroundings as though the lyrics would suddenly appear on the exposed brick wall or in the pitcher of Bud Light. Finally, realizing we’re in the 21st century, we got someone to look it up on their iPhone. Oh the glory of technology. We walked up to the mic with chests held high, ready to take on the sultry tune.

Thankfully I don’t have a video to show you. Instead, here is a clip from the movie:

Risky Thoughts

