Day 345 Risk: Sneak Into a Movie

When the train is running late, I’m a frustrated mess, the thought of being late sending me into a panic. Every month I diligently sit down to my computer, paying my bills at least three to four days before the due date. I used to show up early to every event I was attending, arriving as the hostess was still deciding on an outfit (thankfully, I’ve broken this habit).

I reek with the stink of responsibility.

So, as you might imagine, I’ve never sneaked into a movie. I’ve thought about it, but as soon as I take a step toward the awaiting theater, my heart begins to race and suddenly everyone is looking at me, judging me, waiting to catch me. I find my feet racing for the exit, my nerves pulsing wildly until I’m in the car and on the way home.

When I came out of the bathroom after seeing Cabin In The Woods on Saturday, I noticed that Mirror Mirror was about to start. I quickly ran to my husband’s side and whispered in his ear that we should sneak in, scanning the surrounding area to see if there were any attendants in earshot. He chuckled, agreed, and we casually walked into the theater with goofy grins plastered on our faces.

As the lights dimmed and the previews began to roll, we looked over our shoulders anxiously, checking the exits for theater employees. My adrenaline didn’t calm until I saw the title flash across the screen. We were safe. Giggled like teen girls seeing their crush, we allowed ourselves to relish the victory, and then settled in for the movie.

I won’t make a habit of breaking the rules, as my natural tendency toward responsibility is too strong. But the thrill of shrugging my shoulders and going with that impulse was worth the risk of getting caught.

2 thoughts on “Day 345 Risk: Sneak Into a Movie

  1. With the price of movies today we should be able to watch two instead of one…have done this myself once upon a time1

Risky Thoughts

