Day 340 Risk: Start a New Job

I found a job! My search was incredibly stressful, so I was pretty pumped when this job landed at my feet and said, “Hello. I know you weren’t expecting me, but I’d really like to be your friend.”

It’s not the job I really, really wanted (but I did get an email this week that they are still processing the applications, so who knows), but it is the next best thing. I get to work from home at any time of the day, it’s project based so there’s no busy work to meet hourly requirements, and it’s part-time. The only problem is that it’s doing something I’ve never really done. My official title is Research Assistant for a study of medical articles.

Taking this job made me pretty nervous. Would I know what to do? Would I mess up and totally screw the entire study? Am I actually qualified to do this work? As I started in on Monday, I realized that all of my fears baseless (you would think I would’ve learned that by now) and that I’m perfect for this job.

We had an immediate deadline, so I had to cancel on a storytelling event I was planning on attending Monday night. It was difficult to cancel, feeling like I was letting down the girl whom I was meeting. Plus there were the added fears of falling into my old habit of giving up writing for work. But I accepted that putting a little focus on my work now doesn’t mean that I’m giving up on anything. Life isn’t so black and white.

One thought on “Day 340 Risk: Start a New Job

  1. Pingback: Day 342 Risk: Take a Day Off for My Honey « little d, big year

Risky Thoughts

