Day 337 Risk: Exercise in Public…Using my Groceries

My form of transportation in the city is the CTA. We don’t have a car, which really isn’t a big deal, until we need to go grocery shopping. Do you know how heavy a bunch of bananas is? Really freaking heavy, that’s how heavy.

I was downtown for a training and I decided to pick up a few things on my way home. I had intended for my shopping trip to be tiny, but I kept being lured by tasty food. By the time I finally left I had two large brown bags full of groceries. I readjusted my messenger bag, took a deep breath, and began the journey to the CTA stop at the end of the block. As I got nearer, I realized that I was about ten blocks from the train line that goes by my place, so I decided to get a little exercise.

Each time I had to stop for traffic, I did ten curls with my bags, or ten of the ones with your elbows out to the side (no idea what their name is, but my shoulders hurt later if that tells you anything). I looked like a fool. It was a little awkward, using full grocery bags as weights, but I managed to get the hang of it and forced myself to keep lifting. A few business people noticed, looking at me sideways as they made their way to a power lunch. By the time I got to the train I was sweaty, tired, my arms hurt, and I was hungry. So I popped open a bag of chocolate covered potato chips as I waited for the train.

 

Danger.

 

Don’t judge. I only had one. Okay, maybe two.

Risky Thoughts

