Day 298 Risk: Attempt To Check Off Something On My Bucket List

There’s still a chance to help me plunge into Lake Michigan this weekend. If I reach $500 I not only get entered to win a prize, but more importantly, in only one week you will have helped me raise $500 for the Special Olympics!

Click here to give.

**********************************************************************

I’ve followed this great blog for a while now and the writer and her husband recently started a new website called Bucket List Publications. One of their missions is to help other adventure seekers like themselves attempt to check things off of their bucket lists. I’ve received a few emails asking readers to send in their bucket list items and on Monday I finally decided I should send in one of mine.

I chose something that feels impossible to me, something that I really want to do before I kick the bucket, but I’ve never been able to see how it could be done. I want to see the penguins play in Antarctica.

How cool would it be to see these happy feet in action?

**Image taken from Concierge Traveller.**

It’s a huge one, I know. And I don’t care if I’m helping a scientific expedition or on a luxury cruise. I just want to go. I could have attempted to check off one of my more attainable items, like skydiving or learning Argentinian tango. But I figured why now put it all out there and see what happens.

For some reason, I continually convince myself to not ask for too much, to not reach too far. I’m not sure where it started, but I know that it’s made me afraid of being disappointed, and so I stop myself from thinking too big. At times this way of thinking has even caused me to believe that certain things aren’t in the cards for me.

I almost didn’t send the email for fear that I’d be told it’s too much or that they can’t help me check that off my bucket list. In fact a large part of me is expecting that response. But there is also a teeny tiny part of me that has hope that it’s not as unattainable as it feels. Sure it seems crazy and huge to me, but who knows? Maybe it’s not as crazy as I think.

One thought on “Day 298 Risk: Attempt To Check Off Something On My Bucket List

Risky Thoughts

