Day 293 Risk: Go Pixie…For Real

I flirted with a pseudo-pixie a few months ago. I thought that I had a pixie cut that time, but now I know that my pixie gauge was completely off. On Wednesday, I found out what it’s like to truly have a pixie.

Not wanting to shock my friend/stylist Melissa, I once again sent her a text asking her if she liked the idea of me going pixie and she said she loved it. So I printed out some pictures and brought them with me to my hair appointment.

My first inspiration was Michelle Williams:

I think it's safe to say that Michelle Williams is my hair muse.

I wasn’t completely sold on the above cut though. I thought I might want to try something a little boxier, sort of like what Ginnifer Goodwin rocks:

Am I cool enough to pull this off? I don't think I am. But maybe I could be...one day...but probably not...

My stylist humored me, even though I got the sense that she didn’t completely agree with the look for me (Tip: Trust your stylist!). She told me that if I didn’t like the boxy look, the Michelle Williams look was a little shorter and we could still do that.

I ended up looking more like Shelby after Truvy cut all her hair off; it was just too long. (**Please note: My stylist is amazing; it wasn’t her cutting skills that caused my hair to look strange. She gave me the above cut, but my head rebelled against it.**) There was a tense moment as my hair began to dry. I finally broke the silence and said, “Maybe we should just go shorter.”

My stylist laughed. “I was hoping you’d say that.”

“I think the other cut would look better.”

“I was just waiting for you to give me the okay to go shorter. The other cut will totally look better on you.”

Man, was she right. I’ll write/say it again: Trust your stylist. They know what they’re talking about.

After it was all done, I was in shock. I couldn’t believe that I had actually taken the leap, had done something I’d been thinking about doing for years. I was so in shock that I had to Facebook my friend a few days later to let her know that I didn’t properly communicate how much I loved the cut.

Now, three days into this pixie, I must say that I’m giddy about having this cut. I’m interested to see what a week or two of growth looks like. I’m pumped to try spiking it up the next time I go out. Most of all, I’m excited to see who I become with a true pixie.

Pixie!!

9 thoughts on “Day 293 Risk: Go Pixie…For Real

Risky Thoughts

