Day 254 Risk: Begin A Knitting Project

I’m obsessing over snoods lately. A snood is a scarf-hood combo that is big and chunky and a piece of warm magic. You can wear it like a huge scarf or pull it over your head to have both a scarf and a hood.

So cozy. So chic. So want.

You can buy them in a multitude of places. The above snood sells here on Etsy (such a cool site; you should take a minute and look around at all the crafty goodness they have to offer). The ones that I like are knits, and seeing as I know how to use a set of needles, I decided to make one, or at least attempt to make one.

There are two risks within this risk. The first is that I’m doing this without a pattern and I have no idea if the calculations I made will turn out how I imagine they will. I’ve tried multiple times to knit without a pattern; sometimes it works, sometimes it flops. The other risk is that I will never finish the piece. Along with the successes and flops are a pile of halfway finished projects. There are only a few more months before Chicago will warm up and a snood like the above will be overwhelming, so if I don’t complete it before the temps rise, I will have to wait awhile before I’ll be able to wear it and will probably not finish it.

Hopefully I can update this post soon with a finished product. But for now, here’s what I’ve got:

"Maybe I'm a snood, maybe I'm just wasted yarn. Either way I'm pretty."

 

UPDATE 2/11

So I completed the above snood and am finally getting around to showing off some pics of me in the warm, snuggly thing. The following were taken at a friend’s birthday party. My apologies for my complete freak-a-zoidness; this is what I look like when I’m having fun. I know, it’s scary.

I'm a total weirdo.

This is my "I'm excited" face! "I'm so excited! I'm so excited. I'm so...scared!!"

I love my snood. The proportions were a little off, causing the snood to be more like a huge scarf than a snood, but I don’t care all that much. It doesn’t go over my head well, but I can lower it over my shoulders which keeps them nice and warm.

Even so, it’s not long enough and way too wide around, so the below pattern is modified to hopefully be a little better than the one I made. My sister-in-law and step-mother-in-law want one, so I’ll be trying out the below pattern soon as well. Let me know if it ends up working for you!

MATERIALS

Needles: FOR KNITTING: I used 15 US/10 mm, but you can use bigger if you want. FOR SEAMING: Yarn Darning needles

Yarn: Any really thick yarn will do. I used Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick in Oatmeal

PATTERN **Warning: Everything below was discovered through guesswork and trial and error. Proceed with caution, aka: do what feels right to you.

Cast On 60-68 stitches, depending on how bulky you want it to be (I originally cast on 72; way too many)

Knit remaining stitches, until you have gone through 2-3 skeins of yarn, depending on how long you want it to be. Save a few feet of yarn in order to seam (see below).

**If you are unsure of length, you can hold the yarn up behind your head to test the length as you get close to the end. A snood should be able to cover your head and still cover or bunch up at the back of your neck. Get it to a length that you will feel cozy in.

Cast off once you’ve reached the desired length.

To seam, take a yarn darning needle and thread with remaining few feet of yarn. Take the two long edges (NOT where you cast on and off) and seam together. Here are some great instructions from Knit Simple on how to seam your garment. **The above garment was done in garter stitch.

Happy knitting!!

3 thoughts on “Day 254 Risk: Begin A Knitting Project

  1. Pingback: Dear lovely reader… « Little D, Big Year

Risky Thoughts

