Day 247 Risk: Take A Forbidden Walk

This post title sounds way more mysterious than it actually is. Or dirtier. More mysterious or dirtier than I intended. I guess I should warn you that nothing mysterious or dirty happened on this forbidden walk. Sorry to disappoint.

Behind the resort we stayed at last weekend is a huge golf course. On Saturday I woke up to beautiful weather. The sun was out, the temperatures were surprisingly warm, and that golf course was calling to me.

Oh how you tempt me clean air and wide open spaces.

I don’t play golf, but I do love a good walk. So I threw on my sweater and went outdoors for the first time in two days.

As I circled the parking lot and came to the course entrance, I saw a sign that said, “For your safety, blah, blah, blah, course only open to golfers, yadda, yadda, yadda.” Past D would have become very nervous and been convinced that this constituted as trespassing and that someone was going to come along and scolding would commence and that trespassing would mean getting kicked out of the resort and…

Past D was a bit of a worrywart. But Present D is a little more fearless. I chuckled at the sign and kept walking. I didn’t see anyone golfing, so I figured I had already avoided any potential danger.

The walk was so refreshing. The air smelled like the Fall Saturdays of my youth, when I would put on my cheerleading uniform and spend the day watching Pee-Wee football. The air was crisp on that golf course, on the verge of winter, and I could practically taste the Little Debbie snacks and oranges slices that the Team Moms would have waiting for us after the games.

I looped around and made my way back to the resort. No one stopped me, no one even gave me a second look. I’m beginning to see that sometimes rules are worth breaking.

Risky Thoughts

