Day 240 Risk: Crash A Party

My amazing friend coordinated a trolley to take a group of us around the city last night. She planned for us to do all sorts of fun things, including singing karaoke, hitting up a dive bar, and ending up downtown at midnight to watch the fireworks.

So happy.

Soon after we were picked up, we made a stop at a party. It was supposed to be a short stop, as we were just dropping off one of our friends. But for some reason a number of people on the trolley got off to run upstairs with him. I didn’t know whose house this was, but I got the impulse to crash the party. I mentioned this and another trolley rider jumped on my bandwagon. We got off the bus and ran after our friends.

This apartment was in one of the doorman buildings on Lake Shore Drive, aka: Super Nice Digs. Our friends had already gotten past the doorman and headed into the party by the time we got to the door, so our first mission was to convince the doorman to let us in. Once that goal was accomplished, we found ourselves lured by the gorgeous Christmas tree in the lobby and sneaked over to take a picture with it. The doorman was looking at us like we were crazy, so it was a hurried, giggly photo.

Once actually in the party, we found ourselves awkwardly bumping into the host and our friends. We were introduced and then everyone kind of dispersed. There was a server standing by the door pouring glasses of pink champagne, so, with it being New Year’s Eve and all, I gladly accepted. I went down the hall and found about five people hanging out, in the beautiful guestroom, with more food and booze, and an unreal four poster bed with lush bedding.

I schmoozed for awhile, trying to not seem too weird or amateurish. I was only about halfway through my glass of bubbly when my friends came in and said it was time to go. Between me and the other party crasher, we downed the glass and made our way out.

I’ve got to say, I’ve always, always wanted to do that. It was exhilarating. Now I have to work up the courage to crash a wedding and dance with the best man.

Risky Thoughts

