Day 193 Risk: Try Apache Style Dancing

**I’ve updated my post about giving up chocolate for a week, in case you’re interested.**

Apache was a style of dancing popular in the beginning of the 20th century in Paris. It involved combining dance and fighting techniques, including throws and punches. My husband choreographed and performed this dance style a few years ago with a friend of ours and has recently taken up an interest in doing it again. I couldn’t pass up the chance to get involved this time around.

To give you a better idea, here is a video of said dancing:

So cool right?

So scary huh?

Yup. I was really hesitant about this risk.

So we got to the space where we would be rehearsing and I was a pretty nervous, for a few reasons. One, the most obvious, is that this was super, super scary stuff. I was going to be thrown around and the closest I’ve come to anything like this was when I joined gymnastics in high school, which really isn’t that close at all. Second, I had no idea what the skill level of the other people would be. I knew my hubby was super talented and I feared that I would be on the low end of that totem pole.

We got to trying some things out and I found I could actually do a lot of it. I was flipping over my husband’s arm, doing spins into face slaps and forward falls. We even did a dance move into a cartwheel. Not so difficult. Then my husband suggested we try the move where you grab the ankle and the wrist and spin through the air. All I could think of was the Pamchenko from the 1992 classic ice skating movie, The Cutting Edge.

"Toe pick!"

Uhh…

I was freaked out. Super, super freaked out. My husband went first, having one of the other guys take him into the air. Luckily it wasn’t nearly as crazy as the above. But it was still pretty crazy. My hands were covering my mouth the entire time I was watching my husband, so bugged out by the fact that I was about to do this.

Thankfully, my husband did not drop me on my head:

In the end I had so much fun and really surprised myself. I went into this thinking I wasn’t going to be able to do much and was shocked at how much I could not only do, but do well. The next time he plans this, I am definitely all in.

4 thoughts on “Day 193 Risk: Try Apache Style Dancing

  1. Just pull up your memory banks…your brothers use to do this to you when you were young! Of course mom didn’t like it but they did!

  2. Such cool stuff!!! Looks like a lot of fun – I think it was fight folks that showed me that video a few years ago. I’d love to have someone to play with like that! Congrats on the risk! It’s gotta feel great to fly!

Risky Thoughts

