Day 185 Risk: Give Up Chocolate For A Week

**I have updated my post about giving up TV for a week, for those that are curious.

*Sigh* I don’t want to do this. The complete and total risk for this is that it won’t happen, that I can’t go until Sunday without a piece of that sweet goodness touching my lips (get your head outta the gutter).

I’m obsessed with chocolate.

I promise you Mr. Wonka, I will taste test every single product. Please give me your chocolate factory.

I’ll take it in any form. Give me dark, milk, white, in cake form, cupcake form, bar form, as ice cream, brownies…*sigh*

So why am I putting myself through this torture? I don’t know. That’s a lie, I do know. I eat way, way too much of it. And the extra 10 pounds stuck to my bat wing arms is probably all from chocolate. My CAB (Cranky Angry Bowel or, as it’s more commonly known, IBS) also seems to be reacting badly to all the chocolate I’m consuming.

Having just completed my week of no TV, I figured I’d like to try something else that poses a real risk of failure for me. And going even one day without chocolate (Yes I do eat chocolate every day. Quit judging me) is something I can’t honestly conceive.

**Full Disclosure: I came up with this risk after I had already had some Toblerone today. So I kind of already failed at this, but not really. But sort of. But not.

Wish me luck. I’m not as optimistic about this as I was about TV.

My taste buds hate me right now.

 

Updated 11/13:

Oh my god I did it. I can’t believe I’m writing this but I did it. I have no will power and yet this week I somehow managed. Of all the things I’ve done in the last six months, I may be more proud of this than most of my risks.

But it wasn’t easy.

I had two really bad days. The first was Wednesday. I was working on a few projects and really, really wanted to have some chocolate to munch on. I was craving sweets in some form, and the form I normally gravitate to is chocolate goodness. I went to the candy store up the street from my place and walked around aimlessly. The clerk asked me if I needed any help and I said sadly, “I gave up chocolate for a week, but need sugar. Something creamy. And I have no idea what to get.” It was a bit pathetic. She hooked me up with some caramel candy corn and that did the trick.

The next night my husband and I decided to stay in and get some junk food and watch episodes of True Blood. Normally I would get chocolate in this situation as well, but I resisted, choosing, again, something creamy but with no chocolate.

I felt so much better this past week though. My stomach wasn’t as upset as it normally is and after I got over the initial hump, it really wasn’t that bad. I was able to resist my urges and was better for it. To the point that when my friend presented chocolate treats at a viewing of the Bears game, I didn’t feel as compelled to eat the entire bowl on my own. I had a few and then let it alone. My husband said the real risk would be to give up sweets completely. I looked at him like he had said I needed to give up breathing. Maybe in another couple of months.

Hopefully this will be a risk that I can carry into my daily life like I did with TV. Maybe I’ll finally drop that ten pounds that seems to cling to my body for fear of death and at last be able to see the muscles in my arms.

6 thoughts on “Day 185 Risk: Give Up Chocolate For A Week

  1. Good luck! No failure yet – your first day without chocolate started when you decided to do it. So, on Monday of next week, you’ll hit your mark at the time you decided to start today!

    One day at a time. One moment at at time. You can do this!!!

  2. It is all shear will power. I am fine as long as I don’t have a piece of chocolate, but once I have that first piece it is all I want all day! Unfortunately there just isn’t any substitute for chocolate…good luck! You can do it!

  3. Pingback: Day 193 Risk: Try Apache Style Dancing « Little D, Big Year

Risky Thoughts

