Day 171 Risk: Socialize With Strangers At A Party

I do a Bachelor/Bachelorette Fantasy League. Yes, it is like the NFL Fantasy League. Only instead of QB’s and Offensive Linemen, we draft the contestants on The Bachelor and Bachelorette. It’s awesome. Freakin’ awesome. And I’ve met some really cool people doing it.

One of those girls was having a Pumpkin Carving Party last night and my husband and I decided to go. There weren’t going to be a ton of people there, but I knew there was a chance that I would really only know the host and maybe one other person. If you regularly read this blog, you know that I struggle in these situations. They are getting easier, but I think it’s only because of how often I keep putting myself in this place of discomfort.

We got to the party and I was pretty correct. I knew the host and one other person there. I’ve met a few others maybe once, but never really had substantial conversations with them. I couldn’t get by the whole evening talking to two people, so I carefully inserted myself into a conversation and then went from there. Things naturally progressed from there and I soon after felt comfortable.

It bugs the crap out of me that I still feel butterflies in these situations. I’m frustrated that I can’t just be okay with the uncomfortable. But then again, do we ever get used to the uncomfortable? Does anyone ever really find themselves content to be awkward?

I don’t know. I’m not sure if I ever will. I’m attempting, with all my might, to just get used to it, be okay with the process. I desperately want the end product, the feeling at peace and chilled out no matter what the situation. I guess I’m just impatient.

2 thoughts on “Day 171 Risk: Socialize With Strangers At A Party

  1. Sometimes you need to think to yourself ‘would I mind someone I didn’t know coming over and talking to me?’. The answer most times is of course not. So just go for it. LIke anything else..the more you do something the easier it gets. You are a wonderful, fun-loving person to be around.

Risky Thoughts

