Day 163 Risk: Forgo Cleaning

I’m a neat freak. Past posts and a Type A personality have probably already clued you into this. But lately my motivation has been…well… let’s just say my place is pretty groody. It needed a clean like I need a nice glass of wine; a necessity for a happy life.

On Saturday I woke up with the intention of cleaning my place, specifically the bathroom. But then I realized that I hadn’t watched the most recent episode of Project Runway. So that had to happen. By the time that was done and I had written my risk post from Friday, I realized that I had a choice. I could either clean or hang out with friends. Both probably weren’t going to happen. I chose friends.

By the time I got back to my place I was kind of cursing myself for not cleaning. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to on Sunday, Monday or Tuesday, which means I’d be living in my filth for 3 more days before anything could be done about it. And even then I may be too exhausted to get much accomplished.

But I also realized that no one’s going to see it but me and my husband. And being as his level of clean is still in adolescent stages, I knew the mess was really only bothering me. While it was really bothering me, I missed my friends and wanted to see them more.

Tip! If you wait around long enough, some things take care of themselves! I came home today to find that my husband had cleaned the bathroom. Good man. Glad I didn’t waste my weekend wrist deep in bleach.

2 thoughts on “Day 163 Risk: Forgo Cleaning

  1. So the saying in my mom’s kitchen comes to mind “This house is dirty enough to look lived in but clean enough to be healthy”! or “Welcome to our house, come in relax converse. It doesn’t always look like this, sometimes it’s even worse”!

Risky Thoughts

