Day 155 Risk: Ask For Advice

Outside of my husband I rarely ask others for advice on things. It’s not that I think other people can’t help me, more so that I don’t want to bug anyone. I always feel like it’s an inconvenience. That and sometimes the things I need advice on are embarrassing and I don’t want to reveal them to anyone but my husband, being as I’ve got the certificate that says he has to listen and still love me (I know that doesn’t always happen but I’m going to keep the dream alive).

So yesterday I was dealing with something, the details of which are unimportant. Let’s just say that it dealt with a personality flaw that I’m trying to correct. I was alone all day, with my husband at work, but I needed to talk with someone. Then I remembered that my brother gets out early and is home by about 3, which is 2 my time. I picked up the phone and called him.

I am the youngest of three, with my oldest brother being 6 years my senior. We get along great, have ever since he went away to college. Our personalities and ways we approach life are very similar, so I knew he’d get me and know what I needed to do. I was a little hesitant at first, but eventually opened up and sought his thoughts on my dilemma. While he was getting ready to head out the door, he took a minute to talk to me and helped me reach some realizations that I hadn’t really thought about.

I text him later to thank him for taking a minute, still feeling like I’d really interrupted his day, and he text me back to thank me for asking him. He basically said I have a lot of people I could go to and he felt really flattered that I asked him. I hadn’t really thought of it like that. I think sometimes I try to make other people’s lives easier but in truth me being me is what they want. I try to be what society thinks I should be but actually I’m better off just being myself. Apparently that’s a good thing. Who knew.

Risky Thoughts

