Day 147 Risk: Leave Work Early

I rarely, rarely ask to leave work early. If I’m sick, I pretty much always choose to not go in at all. If I’m just kinda blah, I’ll go in and muscle through. But I hardly ever find myself in a position where I have to cut myself off and get outta dodge.

I had the oddest, strangest experience yesterday while at work. Later I would find out from my husband that I had almost fainted (something he’s done on a few occasions). Here’s the low down on what happened: I started getting pain/pressure in my way lower back, almost like I needed to use the restroom. I then started feeling a little dizzy, then got really hot and thought I was going to throw up. As I made my way to the bathroom, my ears began to feel like they were in an ocean, waves crashing. I was so disoriented as I stumbled into the bathroom that I had to lean against the wall so as to not fall over. I broke out into a cold sweat and was doing that leg thing, where you unconsciously begin bobbing your knee because have to move something. When I looked in the mirror, I was whiter than I ever been.

Eventually the dizziness subsided, although a dazed feeling stuck around. The color began to come back to my face a little and I never actually got sick, so I tried to go back to work. As I sat down to fill out some paperwork, I realized that I was too shaken up to get anything accomplished. I went to my boss and said flatly, “I don’t know what’s going on with me. I just got really dizzy and almost threw up. I need to leave.” I must have looked pretty messed up because the look on her face was pure concern and fear. I left soon after that.

In the cab ride home I started to feel better and by the time I got to my house, my body felt fine, even though I was still a bit dazed by the experience. I called my doc, who said that it didn’t sound too ominous and to keep an eye on it and call him if anything else happens. By the time I went to bed, I had some stomach crapping (somewhat common for me, so not a real concern) but otherwise was fine. In talking with my husband, I found out that his stomach has been bothering him all week and a few days ago he felt dizzy and lightheaded most of the day. Could be a stomach bug, could be the weather. Who knows.

I debated with myself about needing to go home. It all happened right at the end of the day and filling out this paperwork was the last thing I had to do before leaving. When I started to feel better I honestly felt a little foolish for not staying and completing my work. But at the same time I had no idea what had just happened to me. I’ve never passed out before, so those symptoms were a whole new ballgame for me and I was super freaked out. I think I get scared to call out or go home early for sickness because of my whole stomach condition thing and how it’s often misunderstood. But sometimes I’ve got to go with my gut on things (no pun intended) and with being that freaked out, I really wouldn’t have been productive to anyone.

Risky Thoughts

