Day 119 Risk: Rely On Myself To Ease Anxiety

My husband is my rock. He is the person I lean on when I can’t seem to find a path in my muddled thoughts. Somehow he cuts through all the muck and shows me what I can’t see on my own. But something I’m working on right now is doing that for myself, clearing my head on my own.

Thursday was a day full of writing related work for me and I hadn’t thought about the business of writing in literally months. I opened my computer and checked my email. It took me an hour to get through and then I was able to actual dig in to some of the things I’ve wanted to move forward on related to me creating a business for myself.

As soon as I started thinking in those terms, I got overwhelmed. My brain started racing and “spiraling”, as my husband likes to say. I reached for my phone and began dialing his number but then I stopped myself. I put the phone down and opened my notebook, took a deep breath and dug into a journal entry.

Once I got into writing, I started to feel better. I was able to clear my head a bit and get out all the rambling thoughts I was struggling with. By the time I got to the end of the page, I felt like I had a new lease on the day and was able to move forward with my work.

In the end, I’m glad I’ve worked to make this change. Being able to fix this myself allows me a sense of freedom and self reliance that I’m missing right now.

Risky Thoughts

