Day 115 Risk: Chill At A Laundry Mat

I have a washer and dryer in my basement and have had this luxury (yes non-city dwellers; it’s a luxury) ever since I moved to the city. So going to a laundry mat is something I haven’t done in years.

But I had about 5 loads of laundry to do and since my friend doesn’t have a washer/dryer in her place, so always goes to the laundry mat. I jumped on the bandwagon, wanting to knock all this out in one shot.

Okay, so you may not believe that this a risk. But I promise it was! Laundry mat washers and dryers are very different than home washers and dryers and I didn’t want to look like a fool. Not to mention that I didn’t know this laundry mat. Would the washers be clean? Would it be packed and I’d end up waiting all day? Would I run out of cash and have to bring home dirty laundry?

When we arrived my friend immediately dug in, being a pro and having separated her piles before leaving. I was so lazy about it, just bringing everything with me unorganized. I was running around, trying to get my loads into the washer so that I didn’t get too behind my friend. Then I had to figure out the change machine. That was interesting. Once I finally had all my laundry in the washers and all my change organized, I went to put the detergent in and couldn’t figure out which slot to put it in. My friend came over to help me and clarified everything. Then I ran out of detergent. I went to buy some from the front desk, only to find out they only accepted cash and I didn’t have any. My friend let me borrow some and I finally, finally was able to start my loads.

My friend’s loads were over halfway done. I’m pretty sure I looked like a crazy woman running around that entire place yelling, “Detergent!” and “Change!” (Okay, so I didn’t actually yell those things, but it felt like I was.)

Once the loads got going though I relaxed a little. I was able to read some of my book and make a phone call. We were able to get the laundry in the dryer quickly and my stuff didn’t end too far behind my friend.

In the end it wasn’t bad at all. It was actually kind of awesome! I forgot how great it was to not have to spend an entire day doing laundry. I don’t think I’ll be hitting it up all that often, but after a trip, it may become a necessity.

Risky Thoughts

