Day 96 Risk: Babysit

On occasion I babysit to pull in some extra cash. And every time I do it, it scares the crap out of me.

Reason #1: You have someone else’s children in your care. If you screw up in any way, you could possibly hurt or scare or scar these children and bring on the wrath of their parents.

Reason #2: You could hurt or scare or scar children.

Reason #3: You may, if you are like me, be reminded of the daily in and out of being a parent. And this may have you rethink having your own.

Now let me put a disclaimer with #3: I love kids. Love, love, love them. And rarely is it the children that cause me to feel this way. It’s normally just the realities of raising kids that become clear. The kids are usually just being kids.

Without fail, I felt nervous headed over to an old friend’s house last night to watch their kids. They are opening a show and needed some help during previews so I offered up my services. I enjoy their kids and used to babysit their son when he was itty bitty, so I at least felt a little relief in that I knew the family.

Things went pretty well. I fed them, had them help me clean up their toys, we did bath time and then after making drawings for their parents, we did bed time. The kids are 3 and 4 so you can imagine that I was pretty tired when it was all done. But no one got hurt, they seemed to have fun when I wasn’t asking them to do things that most 3 and 4 year old’s hate doing (bath time, clean up time, bed time). I think things went pretty well.

And while my sister-in-law will hate to read this, #3 cropped up again. Maybe I’m just not in that place in my life where I feel ready to take it all on. It’s nice to have that time to play at the idea, but I’m very happy knowing that I can do it for one night and then go back to life.

Maybe one day I’ll want kids, but I’m not sure when that will be. Maybe that day will never come. But for now, I like my quiet little life.

One thought on “Day 96 Risk: Babysit

  1. I’m just going to pretend I didn’t read this one! =) lol. except for the part where you said you love, love, love kids!! hahah

Risky Thoughts

