Day 35 Risk: Ask a Stranger a Question

As I walked to the store today, I noticed a group of boys packing up an RV. On the front it said something to the effect of “blah blah blah rentals.com blah.” “O M God,” I thought. “You can rent an RV. I’ve never thought to do that.”

I wanted to stop and ask about it but I was a bit tentative. I don’t know why I get nervous approaching strangers about things, but I do. Maybe it’s a fear that they will get annoyed with me and then I’ll feel guilty the rest of the day. Maybe it’s a feeling that there will be awkwardness because we don’t know each other. Whatever the reason the result is butterflies and rapid heart racing and usually I just smile and pass, avoiding the above but also missing out on discovering whatever it is I’m looking to find out.

But today I thought, screw it! I want to know more about RV rentals. So I approached the guy nearest me, we gave each other a weird look, then:

“Um, excuse me. Did you rent that RV?”

“Yeah, we’re going to Bonnoroo.”

“Sweet! How much did that cost to rent?”

“Uh, I don’t know about $1400 for 4 days?”

“Can you rent for like a month?” Here is where it started to get a little uncomfortable.

“Do you want to live in it?”

“Uh, no, uh, I’m thinking road trip.”

“Uh, I mean, I guess.”

Then we stood there awkwardly for a moment, trying to figure out what to say next and how to end the conversation. I mean, I wasn’t looking for a new best friend. So even though I wanted to ask to go check out the inside and see how it was constructed, I decided against it, bid them good time, and made my way to the store.

So, road trip anyone?

One thought on “Day 35 Risk: Ask a Stranger a Question

Risky Thoughts

